Kallista Community Markets


The Kallista Community Market is based in the Dandenong ranges in Kallista.  It is a buzzing little market with many of the local community mingling together.

The stalls were all busy with customers on this warm and sunny Saturday in the first week of March 2012.  There was a one man band playing the oldies tunes such as Carpenters.  I love my golden classics (to an extent)

I was welcomed warmly by the Market host Amy who has a stall called Lillebeart, her stall has recycled goodies from cards to jewellery, they were lovely pieces of art.  She was quite happy for me to mingle around with all the stallholders.

I walked around this busy market chatting away to various stallholders and my favourite would have to be Tony from Thorpdale Organics Produce, he showed me pictures of his farm in Thorpdale near Mirboo, his potatoes looked absolutely delicious and he gave me tips on how to cook silverbeet.

I know Mirboo because my husband took me there for our babymoon before my little man was born, it was at loves lane

After spending a couple of hours there, I headed down to Kallista tea rooms for a delicious coffee and orange cake.

The market was a bit hard to find if you are a stranger to Kallista, but if you notice all the cars parked you know its nearby.

Leave a Reply

